REI Logo
Text Size: small text medium text large text
Bookmark and Share
banner image

Kick-Off Archive
Fifith Annual Kick-Off and Celebration
October 21, 2009

The Kick-Off and Celebration included many honored guests: Guest Speakers Brad Emmerson (AT&T-sponsored USA Team Paralympian), Erika Bogan (Ms. Wheelchair America) and Robert David Hall (a.k.a. Dr. Robbins on CBS' CSI: Crime Scene Investigation); our partners, Internal Revenue Service, Bank of America, AT&T, Darden Restaurants Foundation, Acorda Therapeutics Inc., Walmart, 54Freedom, Visa Inc., and Sealund & Associates Corporation; and our first ever Building Economic Strength Together (BEST) Fellow, Joshua Beal. The goal of the BEST Fellowship will be to create innovative economic empowerment strategies to be tested and piloted with government and private sector support.

REI Tour City Awards: Rochester, NY, Las Vegas, NV, Denver, CO and Atlanta, GA
REI Tour Deaf Tax Awards: The Independent Living Center, Harlem, NY and Lexington Vocational Services Center, New York, NY
Federal Employee Award: Lee Bowman, FDIC
Outstanding Leadership Award: Brian Moynihan, President, Consumer Banking Division, Bank of America
REI Tour Outstanding Achievement Award: Maria V. Reina, Executive Director, Global Partnership for Disability and Development Secretariat, Burton Blatt Institute at Syracuse University.

Fourth Annual Kick-Off and Celebration
October 29, 2008
Individual Best Practice Awards Recipients:

Miryam Lulion, Asset Programs Coordinator, Wayne-Metropolitan Community Action Agency, Detroit, Michigan and Marshall Hunt, Director, Tax Assistance Program Volunteer Accounting Service Team of Michigan, Accounting Aid Society, Detroit, Michigan accepting for Mayor Kenneth V. Cockrel, Jr.

Diana Breen, Senior Project Manager, Children

Mary Dupont, Executive Director, Nehemiah Gateway Community Development Corporation, Wilmington, Delaware (EITC Delaware) accepting for Mayor James M. Baker, Wilmington, DE and Jack Markell, Delaware State Treasurer

Kevin Starks, Chairman, San Diego Commission on Employment of People with Disabilities, San Diego, CA accepting for Mayor Jerry Sanders.

Richard Keeling Leadership Award: Steven Mendelsohn
Outstanding Accomplishment Award for Improving the Economic Lives of Americans with Disabilities: Joshua Beck
Ron Smith Award: Ron Smith
Third Annual National Press Club Kick-Off and Celebration
 October 24, 2007
Salima Siler Marriott, D.S.W, Deputy Mayor for Community and Human Development of Baltimore

 Michael Goeken, Family Economic Success, City of San Antonio, TX accepting award for Mayor Phil Hardberger

Tobey Davies, Southern New Hampshire University, School of Community Economic Development and Disability accepting award for Mayor Frank Guinta

 Faith DuBois, United Way of the Bay Area

Kaye Schmitz, Real$ense Prosperity accepting award for Mayor John Peyton

Melinda Burns, Wildwood Programs, Inc., CA$H Coalition of the Greater Capital Region accepting award for Governor Eliot Spitzer
Richard Keeling Leadership Award: Richard Keeling
Outstanding Accomplishment Award for Improving the Economic Lives of Americans with Disabilities: Judy Stengel

Second Annual National Press Club Kick-Off and Celebration 
October 24, 2006
New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg

Boston Mayor Thomas Menino

Wichita Mayor Carlos Mayans

West Palm Beach Mayor Lois Frankel